Crow writes meticulously researched, entertaining novels of romance, history and mystery in an engaging you-are-there style that allows readers to live the history.

WILMINGTON, NC, April 13, 2019 /24-7PressRelease/ — Electrifying chase scenes, mystical worship services, dashes through remote water-logged landscapes, the wisdom of ancient holy women, and the arcane rites of The Knights Hospitaller keep the pages turning in ‘A Darkly Hidden Truth’ by award-winning author Donna Fletcher Crow. She does not stop there, however. There is a valuable missing icon to be found, a murder to be solved and a mother/daughter conflict to be resolved. Book 2 in Crow’s Monastery Murder series is, in a word, intoxicating.

Readers and reviewers agree. 42 reviewers on Amazon find mixing a murder mystery with Lenten and Easter themes makes for a winning combination. Mike Orenduff, 2011 Lefty Award Winner for ‘The Pot Thief Who Studied Einstein’ said, “With this book, Crow establishes herself as the leading practitioner of modern mystery entwined with historical fiction.” Timothy Hallinan, author of ‘The Queen of Patpong, Edgar-nominated Best Novel in 2011 stated, “Donna Fletcher Crow gives us, in three extremely persuasive dimensions, the world that Dan Brown merely sketches.”

Crow says, “The transcendent peace and beauty of Holy Week in a monastery is without compare. And yet Felicity must deal with the turmoils and perils of the murder of a good friend, as well as conflicts with her domineering mother while keeping the season.

“All this is what made ‘A Darkly Hidden Truth’ such fun to write. Ever since I had the joy of spending Holy Week at the monastery in Yorkshire that serves as model for this series, I had wanted to write about the experience. When Felicity and her impossible mother entered my creative world I knew I had the perfect vehicle for my story.

“I love working with contrasts and this book is full of them: the solidity of the contemporary monastery on the hillside, versus the historic abbey in the Norfolk Broads that subsided into the mire; the festivities of Mother’s Day, versus Felicity’s clashes with her own mother; Felicity’s desire to become a nun, versus her frenetic lifestyle. Even the medieval holy women Felicity looks to provide an antithesis: The secluded mysticism of Julian of Norwich, versus the globe-trotting practicality of Margery Kemp. And then, of course, there are the Knights Hospitaller…”

Other books in the five part series include ‘A Very Private Grave’, ‘An Unholy Communion’, ‘A Newly Crimsoned Reliquary’ and ‘An All-Consuming Fire’.

Donna Fletcher Crow is the author of 45 books, mostly novels of British history. The award-winning ‘Glastonbury’ is her best-known work, which received the prestigious First Place, Historical Novel, award from the National Federation of Press Women. Readers and reviewers have raved about ‘Glastonbury’, calling it “The best of its kind,” “richly fascinating,” “beautifully researched,”, “gloriously evocative,” and “panoramic.” One Amazon reader said, “WHAT a work! Every reader can be enveloped in the sheer scope and quality, every historian be constantly nodding at the precise detail and accuracy, and every Christian can rejoice in the fullness of scripture. For me it is simply beyond descriptive praise. I would urge all who value truth to treat themselves to a feast.”

The Lord Danvers Victorian true-crime series is an Amazon bestseller in the British Detectives category. Books in the series include ‘A Lethal Spectre’, ‘A Most Inconvenient Death’, ‘Grave Matters’, ‘To Dust You Shall Return’ and ‘A Tincture of Murder’. Donna provides a no-charge download of ‘A Tincture of Murder’ for those who sign up for her newsletter. More information is available at her website.

The Elizabeth & Richard Mysteries is a literary suspense series using literary figures as background: Rudyard Kipling in ‘The Flame Ignites’, Dorothy L Sayers in ‘The Shadow of Reality’, Shakespeare in ‘A Midsummer Eve’s Nightmare’, and Jane Austen in both ‘A Jane Austen Encounter’ and ‘A Most Singular Venture’.

The Daughters of Courage, ‘Kathryn’, ‘Elizabeth’ and ‘Stephanie’ is a pioneer family saga based on the stories of Crow’s own family and other Idaho pioneers in the Kuna, Nampa and Boise area.

Donna Fletcher Crow’s work has received a number of high-level industry honors. These include:

Glastonbury, First Place, Historical Fiction, National Federation of Press Women Award of Merit
The Banks of the Boyne, Silver Angel; First Place Historical Fiction, National Federation Press Women
The Fields of Bannockburn, First Place Historical Fiction, National Federation Press Women
Professional Achievement Award, Northwest Nazarene College
Juvenile Books Award of Merit, Idaho Press Women
Top Idaho Author
Pacesetter Award, Mt. Hermon Writers Conference
Outstanding Historical Fiction, Idaho Press Women, National Federation of Press Women,
Idaho Writer of the Year
Best Inspirational Novel, Finalist Romance Writers of America
Writer of the Year, Mt. Hermon Writers Conference

Donna is available for media interviews and can be reached by email at [email protected]. All of her books are available at online book retailers. More information, including a no-charge download of ‘A Tincture of Murder’, is available at her website at

Donna and her husband live in Boise, Idaho. They have 4 adult children and 14 grandchildren living on 3 continents. Donna is remembered by Idahoans with long memories as a former Queen of the Snake River Stampede, Miss Rodeo Idaho and runner-up for Miss Rodeo America. She is an enthusiastic gardener.

For the original version of this press release, please visit here